1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email

The Thirteen Colonies


The Thirteen Colonies Photo by Susan Zakovec
While there were unsuccessful colonies to precede it, the first English-speaking colony to survive was at Jamestown, VA. The last to settle was Georgia, by charter, in 1732. The list below includes the thirteen colonies in chronological order.

  • Virginia
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • Maryland
  • Connecticut
  • Rhode Island
  • Delaware
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Georgia

Want to remember the colonies in order? Memorize a sentence using the first letters of each state in order. Example:

Very many nice men came running down North Street, not needing police guards.

Chart of the thirteen colonies

Profiles of the Colonies

  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. Homework / Study Tips
  4. Tips by Subject
  5. History Homework
  6. The Thirteen Colonies

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.